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The formal charges of misconduct upon which this Findings and Order is based arose 

from information provided by the Arkansas Supreme Court in a grievance filed by Randy Price 

of Hattieville, Arkansas. The conduct related to the representation of Mr. Price in a criminal 

proceeding following arrest for driving while intoxicated, 

Richard M. Grasby is an attorney licensed in 1985 to practice law in the State of Arkansas 

and assigned Arkansas Bar Number 85060. Randy Price was charged with Driving Under the 

Influence and Improper Turn on April 29, 2006, in Conway County, Arkansas, Following his 

arrest, Mr. Price employed Mr. Grasby to represent him. On June 5, 2006, Mr, Price paid Mr. 

Grasby One Thousand Dollars ($1,000). Trial was held on January 29, 2007, and Mr. Price was 

found guilty and ordered to pay Seven Hundred and Five Dollars ($705,00) in fines and costs, 

Mr. Grasby informed Mr. Price that he would appeal the matter at no further costs except 

for the filing fee of One Hundred Forty Dollars ($140.00). On February 5, 2007, Mr. Price 

provided Mr. Grasby with the cost of the filing fee with a cashier's check made payable to the 

Conway County Circuit Court Clerk. 

Following the payment of the costs of the appeal, Mr. Price made several attempts to 

contact Mr. Grasby to make sure that the appeal was filed, The week prior to the expiration of the 

time for filing the request for appeal, Mr. Price called Mr. Grasby to remind him of the deadline, 
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Mr. Price was assured that the request would be filed. 

Mr. Grasby stated that he missed the deadline because he mistakenly sent the check to the 

Conway County Circuit Court Clerk without a copy of the transcript and the cashiers check was 

returned to him. He stated that he attempted to correct the problem by filing a notice of appeal 

with the district court without success. 

Rule 36 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure requires that a written request for appeal be 

filed with the clerk of the circuit court having jurisdiction of the appeal within thirty days from 

the date of the entry of the judgment in district court. No request for appeal was filed by Mr. 

Grasby with the Conway County Circuit Court Clerk within thirty days of the date of the entry of 

the judgment. 

On March 20,2007, Mr. Price received a letter from the Conway County District Court 

stating that a warrant had been issued for his failure to pay on the fines imposed. Mr. Price 

called Mr. Grasby and left a voicemail detailingthereceiptoftheletteranditscontents.Mr. 

Price eventually spoke to Mr. Grasby, who advised that he would handle the matter. 

Thereafter, Mr. Price experienced difficulty contacting Mr. Grasby. Mr. Price would call 

Mr. Grasby from his wife's mobile phone, his place of employment, and his sister's home just so 

that Mr. Grasby would answer the telephone. Mr. Grasby stated that he did inform Mr. Price of 

the problem with the appeal. 

When Mr. Price attempted to renew his driver' s license, a requirement of his 

employment, he was told that he was not in the system. Mr. Price called Mr. Grasby asking what 

he needed to do to get his driver's license back but received no assistance from Mr. Grasby. 

On December 6, 2007, nearly eleven months after the finding of guilty, Mr. Grasby sent a 
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notice of appeal along with a cover letter to the Conway County District Clerk for filing. The 

notice of appeal was filed with the district court clerk on December 10,2007. 

On January 10,2009, Mr. Price and his wife were test-driving a truck when he was pulled 

over by the police. Mr. Price was arrested on an outstanding warrant from Conway County 

District Court for failure to comply. Following Mr. Price's arrest, his wife called Mr. Grasby for 

assistance but there was no answer and Mr. Grasby did not return the telephone calls. Following 

release after posting a bond of One Hundred Sixty Dollars ($160.00), Mr. Price and his wife went 

to Mr. Grasby' s house and met with him in person. During the meeting, Mr. Grasby opened Mr. 

Price' s file and the cashier's check that was purchased on February 5, 2007, fell out of the file. 

Section 11 of Amendment 80 to the Arkansas State Constitution of 1874 provides that 

there is "a right of appeal to an appellate court from the Circuit Courts and other rights of 

appeal as may be provided by Supreme Court rule or by law." Rule 36(a) of the Rules of 

Criminal Procedure, as adopted by the Arkansas Supreme Court pursuant to Amendment 80, 

provides that a person convicted of a criminal offense in a district court may appeal the judgment 

of conviction to the circuit court for the judicial district in which the conviction occurred. Mr. 

Grasby admitted that he failed to comply with Rule 36 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure. He 

asserted, however, that his error occurred in February, 2007, which was more than four years ago. 

Mr. Grasby stated that the applicable statute of limitations against him had run and, though not 

applicable to a disciplinary matter, asked that the disciplinary case be dismissed based upon 

equitable estoppel or laches. 

Upon consideration of the formal complaint and attached exhibit materials, the response 

to the formal complaint and attached exhibit materials, and the Arkansas Rules of Professional 

-3-



Conduct, Panel B of the Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on Professional Conduct finds: 

1. Richard M. Grasby violated Rule 1.1 when he filed a request for appeal with the 

Conway County District Court rather than with the clerk of the circuit court as required under 

Rule 36(b) ofthe Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure and when, on behalf of his client, Randy 

Price, he failed to file a request for appeal with the Conway County Circuit Court within thirty 

days of a decision in Conway County District Court, as required by Rule 3 6(b) of the Arkansas 

Rules of Criminal Procedure. Rule 1.1 requires that a lawyer provide competent representation 

to a client. Competent representation requires the legal knowledge, skill, thoroughness and 

preparation reasonably necessary for the representation. 

2. Richard M. Grasby violated Rule 1.3 when, on behalf of his client, Randy Price, he 

failed to file a timely request for appeal with the Conway County Circuit Court Clerk following a 

finding of guilt by the Conway County District Court and, when he failed to file the record of 

proceedings from Conway District Court with the Conway County Circuit Court Clerk within the 

time-frame established under Rule 36 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure. Rule 1.3 requires that 

a lawyer act with reasonable diligence and promptness in representing a client. 

3. Richard M. Grasby violated Rule 1.4(a)(4) when he failed to promptly comply with 

requests from his client, Randy Price, for information about his matter. Rule 1.4(a)(4) requires 

that a lawyer promptly comply with reasonable requests for information. 

4. Richard M. Grasby violated Rule 8.4(d) when his failure to file a timely request for 

appeal denied his client, Randy Price, his constitutional right to appeal as guaranteed by the 

Arkansas State Constitution of 1874. Rule 8.4(d) requires that a lawyer not engage in conduct 

that is prejudicial to the administration of justice. 
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WHEREFORE, it is the decision and order of the Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on 

Professional Conduct, acting through its authorized Panel B, that Richard M. Grasby, Arkansas 

Bar No. 85060, be, and hereby is, REPRIMANDED, fined the sum of ONE THOUSAND 

DOLLARS ($1,000.00), assessed costs in the amount of FIFTY DOLLARS ($50.00), and 

ordered to pay restitution in the amount of ONE HUNDRED FORTY DOLLARS ($140.00) for a 

total of ONE THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY DOLLARS ($1,190.00) for his 

conduct in this matter. The Panel expressly found that the sanction was enhanced pursuant to 

Section 19.A(12) of the Procedures Regulating Professional Conduct (2011). All fines and costs 

assessed herein shall be payable by cashier's check or money order payable to the "Clerk, 

Arkansas Supreme Court" delivered to the Office of Professional Conduct within thirty (30) days 

of the date this Findings and Order is filed of record with the Clerk of the Arkansas Supreme 

Court. 

ARKANSAS SUPREME COURT COMMITTEE 
ON PROFESSI CO UCT - PANEL B 

Date: A~ f Q) q Q{V I 
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